Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Barefoot Trader Polynesian/Tiki Stores

Pages: 1 2 70 replies

I have been collecting Tiki (mainly postcards) for several years now and am finally getting around to posting on Tiki Central. I recently acquired two postcards from the Barefoot Trader stores - one located in W. Yarmouth Cape Cod, Maine and one located in Pompano Beach, Florida. I also found some pictures from a brochure and an old photo from the W. Yarmouth store.

Here are postcards

Here are the brochure images

The Barefoot Trader stores specialized in unique gifts from around the world set in a Polynesian themed atmosphere. The buildings had great Tiki/Polynesian pop architecture. The store in Cape Cod also had a moai statute in front with a flame coming out of the top of the head - you can see the statue in the old photo. One of the trademarks of the stores were barefoot footprints set in the concrete leading you to the front door.

I read that the W. Yarmouth store had been torn down and is now a factory outlet center. I don't know about the building in Pompano Beach. Does anybody know if there were any more of these stores?

I can't answer your questions Dusty Cajun but as far as first posts go, yours is one of the All Time Greats.

Thanks for sharing your cool stuff.

Wow great, your kind is badly needed around here since Sabu and Puamana dropped out of posting visuals. Those are mighty fine images, thank you. A frames are my biggest thrill. One of these would have made it on my A-frame collage in Tiki Modern for sure had I seen these before.

Thanks Bigbro and Bora Boris. I will try to start posting some of my more interesting Tiki items more often. Wish that the Barefoot Trader could have made it into Tiki Modern.

On 2008-03-26 19:38, bigbrotiki wrote: