Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Original and quick Navy Grog recipes?

Pages: 1 20 replies

I'm a big Trader Vic's Navy Grog fan and I've been searching for their recipe. From what I've read on this board it seems to be a secret. Am I correct? Or doesn someone have the real recipe?

Also, I bought the Trader Vic's Navy Grog mix and from what I've read here, it seems that no one really likes it. I planned on using a half of lime, the rock candy stirs and Cruzan dark rum. Will that get me anywhere near the experience I have a Trader Vics?

Does anybody have any good quick recipes for the Trader Vics Navy Grog mix?

Thanks

S

The TV mix is fine. Make sure you have the concentrate that is "NOT FOR RESALE". They sell it at TV Atlanta, I assume you can get it other places.

The recipe is not what is on the bottle however. 1/2 of a lime (I use 3/4 ounce of juice), 3/4 ounce of the mix, 2 ounces of dark rum, a dash of grapefruit juice and a dash of simple syrup, mint sprig. That's the recipe.

On 2005-06-17 09:49, Swanky wrote:
The recipe is not what is on the bottle however. 1/2 of a lime (I use 3/4 ounce of juice), 3/4 ounce of the mix, 2 ounces of dark rum, a dash of grapefruit juice and a dash of simple syrup, mint sprig. That's the recipe.

I'm sure you are right, but I've been using liquid honey instead of simple syrup. It probably doesn't make a huge amount of difference but it may help in the quest for the perfect Navy Grog.

Trader Woody

This is the mix I have:
http://www.tradervicsfoodproducts.com/default.asp Is that what you were refering to?

Also, do I need the syrup and the rock candy stir or can I just get away with the rock candy stir? Do you know what kind of rum they use in the resturant?

Thanks for the info!

S